top of page

Christine Hanatschek, Senior Recruitment Consultant, SKYCITY Adelaide


Christine joined SKYCITY Adelaide three months ago as Senior Recruitment Consultant. She talks about her experience since joining us, what it's like to be in recruitment, and more...

Can you describe your current role?

I look after all recruitment related matters for SKYCITY Adelaide. In addition to the day to day recruitment, I am working with the wider SKYCITY group to increase our employer brand, engage with recruitment stakeholders and strengthen partnerships both internally and externally.

What do you enjoy most about your current role?

Recruitment is the first point of contact for potential SKYCITY employees and I like that I get the opportunity to showcase it as a great place to work and an employer of choice.

I enjoy telling people they have secured a new role with us; some people are so happy when they find out and it’s a great feeling knowing that I have contributed to something that will have such a positive impact on their life.

What sorts of challenges do you encounter?

Ensuring that I am finding the right fit for the right role can often be a challenge. There are potentially so many people that may be capable of the role, but you want the perfect person for the role so that they thrive in their new opportunity.

What did you do before you joined SKYCITY?

I have been in recruitment for quite some time.

What do you enjoy about working at SKYCITY?

The people. We have a great team here in Adelaide and the Recruitment Team across the ditch have also been great, everyone is happy to share their knowledge. I can say that the welcome to the SKYCITY Team has been great!

What would you say to anyone considering joining your team or applying for a job like yours?

A role in recruitment is all about people, building rapport and relationships so you can understand what it is they are wanting from you from a hiring manager’s perspective and a candidate’s perspective. This will ensure you can connect each with the right person and right opportunity.

Which of SKYCITY’s employee benefits do you enjoy most?

I am good at preparing my lunch to bring to work, however I’m also good at leaving them at home each morning so the staff canteen has been fabulous, it is just so convenient and gives this busy mum a little time back in the mornings!

Is there anything about SKYCITY that makes it different to other work places?

The staff benefits and the atmosphere of the beautiful heritage building where we are situated. I am really looking forward to seeing how we integrate the old with the new whilst we build our new hotel. It really is an exciting time here at SKYCITY Adelaide.

Where were you born/raised?

I was born in Perth, Western Australia, however I have now been in Adelaide for 17 years. My husband and my children were born here so you could say that I am an honorary Crow-eater.

What do like to get up to outside of work?

I enjoy spending time with my family and friends. We like to get away and go camping three or four times a year. When we are home we enjoy getting out in the Barossa Valley and watching AFL at Adelaide Oval – Even though I was born in Western Australia, I am an Adelaide Crows FC member, you know what they say: if you can’t beat em, join em!

If Christine's story inspired you to join our team at SKYCITY, visit our careers website and apply!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page