top of page

Usha Subramanian, Manager of 24/7 employee restaurant & In-Room dining at SKYCITY Auckland


Usha has been with us for nearly 15 years. Starting as a Busser in 2004 with our Conventions team, she successfully progressed her career with us along the way. Now, Usha overlooks one of our busiest food and beverage outlet, which is our 24/7 employee restaurant as well as the In-Room dining at SKYCITY Hotel. Read more of Usha, where she talks about her career and offers advice to anyone that’s thinking about joining our team at SKYCITY...

What other roles have you held at SKYCITY?

I have been at SKYCTY since 2004. I started in Conventions and Out Catering department as a Busser. I then moved into a Supervisory role as a Conventions Supervisor in 2006. In 2008, I was promoted to a Duty Manager, managing big corporate events and residential conferences.

In 2015, I became the commercial manager overlooking the busiest food and beverage outlet which is our 24/7 employee restaurant and also the In-room-dining at SKYCITY Hotel.

How long have you worked at SKYCITY?

I’ve been at SKYCITY for nearly 15 years.

Can you describe your role?

In my role I get to recruit, train and supervise staff. I also manage budgets, plan menus in coordination with Chefs, do promotion and marketing for in-room dining, handle customer enquiries and complaints (both internal and external) and engage with our stakeholders.

What do you enjoy most about your current role?

I really enjoy that I get to interact and assist internal and external stakeholders such as staff from different departments as well as suppliers and contractors who patronise the 24/7 employee restaurant on a daily basis. It’s something that gives me great pleasure. Of course, working with a team that love what they do makes it a whole lot easier and more enjoyable also!

What sorts of challenges do you encounter?

Every day is a new day but the common challenges for myself and the team would be planning around the 24/7 menu as we cater to almost 3000 in-house staff.

What did you do before you joined SKYCITY?

I was an Assistant Sales Manager in a Hotel overseas.

What do you enjoy about working at SKYCITY?

I really enjoy meeting all people that I come across with in my role. I am able to build relationships both internally with stakeholders and externally with our suppliers which I feel gives a personal touch to everything I do in my role.

What would you say to anyone considering joining your team or applying for a job like yours?

Hard work has no substitute and it will be rewarded one day. SKYCITY recognizes hard work and rewards it too. If you are passionate about what you do, diligent and loyal, don’t be afraid to reach for the stars. Be proactive and work towards your dream, be open to learning and don’t wait for the opportunities to fall in your lap. Here at SKYCITY, there will always be someone to mentor you as you go, don’t be afraid to ask for help.

Which of SKYCITY’s employee benefit(s) do you enjoy most?

One of the best privileges working at SKYCITY is the highly subsidized meals at our 24/7 employee restaurant. We offer a variety of food, with plenty of healthy options available. I think this is the best benefit for our people. Full-time employees are also entitled to free medical insurance and it helps a lot. We also get subsidized car parking. Without it, it would be difficult to park in the Auckland CBD.

Is there anything about SKYCITY that makes it different to other work places?

We have a diverse culture and a fun working environment. There are great people around to get mentorship from. We have opportunities to grow here. Last of all, “Sky is the limit at SKYCITY.”

Where were you born/raised and how long have you lived in Auckland?

I was born and raised in India and I’ve been in Auckland for about 15 years.

What do you get up to outside of work?

I like going for long walks and trying out cooking new recipes for my husband and my daughter. I also enjoy listening to music.

Thanks for sharing your story Usha! Want to join our team at SKYCITY? Check out our Careers website.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page