top of page

Rebecca Walsh - Duty Manager, Gusto at The Grand


With Auckland Pride well under way, and because we pride ourselves on being a Rainbow Tick employer, we’ve asked some of our LGBTTI employees to share their career stories with us. Meet Rebecca, our Duty Manager at Gusto at The Grand. She's been working at SKYCITY for nearly five years, and has worked in a number of our restaurants, gaining hospitality experience that she says she wouldn't get anywhere else!

Tell us about your journey at SKYCITY

I started off at REBO as a waiter/bartender. I then moved to The Sugar Club where I started as a bartender and then later got promoted to Duty Manager. I currently work at Gusto as a Duty Manager.

What do you do in your role?

I oversee the running of lunch and dinner services at Gusto to the high standard expected, coordinating run sheets with back of house and communicating daily briefing with front of house members. I’m very much a hands-on manager, assisting with running of sections and wine service.

I also oversee the final cash up reports and daily logs, work with other SKYCITY departments such as Scheduling, Property Services, Payroll and HR to ensure the restaurant runs smoothly.

What do you enjoy about working at SKYCITY?

SKYCITY has given me so many opportunities to grow my hospitality experience whether working on exclusive functions such as Melbourne cup, The Sugar Club’s 5th Birthday or even hosting Katy Perry’s after party at The Sugar Club. I have been through so many lovely experiences that I wouldn’t get anywhere else.

What does SKYCITY's Rainbow Tick Accreditation mean to you?

It means that I work in an organisation that makes me feel accepted for who I am.

How are you going to celebrate Auckland Pride Festival?

I’m working Gusto’s Gayest Bottomless lunch on the 17th of February.

Thanks for sharing your story Rebecca! Interested in joining our team at SKYCITY? Check out our website!

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page